Article IV: Officers and Duties


The officers of the council shall consist of the Chairperson, Co-Chairperson, Secretary and Co-Secretary. These officers shall be elected by a majority vote of the members present at the annual meeting in September and shall serve for one year. Officers may be re-elected for one additional term.


Terms of office are two years beginning at the September meeting. An officer shall serve no more than two consecutive terms. The out-going Chair will appoint a Nominating Committee in adequate time for the Nominating Committee to meet and select nominees to nominate candidates for Chairperson and Co-Chairperson at the meeting immediately prior to the September meeting.

Should any office become vacant, due to the resignation of the incumbent, the Co-Officer shall temporarily assume the office. The Chairperson (or acting Chairperson) shall immediately appoint a Nomination Committee that shall meet and report to the next regularly scheduled Council meeting on its nominees to fill the expired term of the vacated office. The vacancy will be filled by a majority vote of members present.


It shall be the duty of the Chairperson to call meetings, set agenda, make assignments and reside over meetings of the Council. It shall be the duty of the Co-Chairperson to perform the duties of the chairperson in the absence of that officer. [Upon absence or inability to act of the Co-Chairs, the remaining members of the Council shall appoint one of their members to act temporarily as Chair.]

It shall be the duty of the Secretary to mail notices of any Council meetings, maintain a record of membership on the Council and members' attendance at Council meetings, record minutes of all Council meetings, provide legal notice, and other secretarial duties as required. These duties may be assigned to Council staff when appropriate. It shall be the duty of the Co-Secretary to perform the duties of the Secretary in the absence of that officer.

Return to Bylaws overview.