Links for Parents

California Department of Education, Special Education Division
The California Department of Education, Special Education Division website provides all the latest information regarding state initiatives, legislation, policy, and resources.

Center for Applied Special Technology (CAST)
This state-of-the-art site is devoted to exploring the uses of technology to support achievement for special needs learners.

Center for Effective Collaboration and Practice
This is a federally-funded resource for information on services and practices that work for children and youth with emotional or behavioral challenges.

Council for Exceptional Children
The Council for Exceptional Children is the largest professional organization devoted to children with disabilities. The website provides a wealth of information regarding IDEA, national and state conferences and workshops, federal legislation and policy issues, publications and products, career connections, and the ERIC Clearinghouse on Disabilities and Gifted Education.

Council for Learning Disabilities
CLD is one of the largest professional support and advocacy organizations for learning disabilities in the country.

Diagnostic Center, Northern California
Diagnostic Center services are provided by expert, interdisciplinary teams of diagnostic professionals, including educational specialists, speech and language specialists, transition/secondary specialists, school psychologists, clinical psychologists, and pediatricians who address the unique educational needs of Northern California's most difficult-to-serve students enrolled in special education programs.

Early Start Home Page
This section of California's Department of Developmental Services website provides basic information about the state's Early Start program.

Federal Office of Special Education
The Federal Office of Special Education Programs website provides the latest information regarding national special education issues. The site includes a training kit with overheads on IDEA implementation. Information regarding federal grants and a database of over 1,200 projects funded by the department are available.

IDEA Partnership
The IDEA Partnership is dedicated to improving outcomes for students and youth with disabilities by joining state agencies and stakeholders through shared work and learning. It reflects the collaborative work of more than 55 national organizations, technical assistance providers, and organizations and agencies at state and local level.

International Dyslexia Association (IDA)
IDA is the largest organization devoted to reading disabilities (dyslexia). The site provides many useful documents, links, and related information for parents and professionals.

LD Online
This specialized site is devoted to issues related to Learning Disabilities. Very current information, updated daily, with links to every major learning disabilities organization in the country.

Learning Disabilities Association of California
LDA-CA is a 501(c)(3) non-profit volunteer organization of parents, professionals, and adults with learning disabilities. Its purpose is to promote and support the education and general welfare of children and adults of potentially normal intelligence who manifest learning, perceptual, and/or behavioral handicaps.

National Information Center for Children and Youth with Disabilities
The National Information Center is a clearinghouse for information regarding programs for children with disabilities. Over 400 overheads regarding IDEA implementation are available for training purposes.

National Institute of Child Health and Human Development
NICHD is part of the National Institute of Health and sponsors research related to learning disabilities and other reading/literacy related issues. The site includes excellent summaries of research findings, publications for parents and professionals, and conference information.

Parents Helping Parents (PHP)
PHP is a comprehensive, not-for-profit family resource center run for and by parents of children with special needs.

Positive Behavioral Interventions and Supports at the University of Oregon
Created by the federal Office of Special Education Programs and the University of Oregon School of Education, this site provides the latest research and practice information on Positive Behavioral Support for children and adults with disabilities. This site also contains conferences for regional professionals and parents to share thoughts, knowledge, and experiences.

Positive Environments, Network of Trainers (PENT)
PENT is a California Positive Behavior Initiative designed to provide information and resources throughout California for educators striving to achieve high educational outcomes through the use of proactive positive strategies.

Schwab Foundation for Learning
The site of the largest learning disabilities-related support organization in California is loaded with useful information. Links, documents, and more.

Zero to Three
This is an award-winning website designed for parents and professionals involved with children from birth to three years of age.

Becoming Independent

Abuse & Assault

Abuse and Women with Disabilities - www.bcm.edu/crowd/abuse_women/abuse_women.html

ADD & ADHD

Children and Adults with Attention Deficit Disorder - http://www.chadd.org/ or http://www.chaddnorcal.org/

ADHD Support - http://www.adhdsupportcompany.com/

The National Attention Deficit Disorder Association (ADDA) - http://www.add.org/

National Research Center on ADHD - http://www.help4adhd.org/

Advocacy

The Action Starts Here (TASH) - http://www.tash.org/

The ARC - www.thearc.org/

Disability Rights Californai - http://www.disabilityrightsca.org/

Aging with Developmental Disabilities

Safe Mobility for Elders - http://www.eldersafety.org/

Health, Wellness, and Aging with Disability - www.jik.com/hwawd.html

Assistance Dogs

Canine Companions for Independence - http://www.caninecompanions.org/

Assistance Dog Institute - http://www.berginu.org/

Guide Dogs for the Blind - http://www.guidedogs.com/

Assistive Technology

Mayer Johnson Educational Software - http://www.mayer-johnson.com/

Assistive Technology Partners - www.uchsc.edu/atp

Center for Applied Special Technology (CAST) - http://www.cast.org/

National Early Childhood Technical Assistance (NECTAC) - http://www.nectac.org/

Autism Spectrum
Talk About Curing Autism - http://www.tacanow.org/

Autism Society of America - http://www.autism-society.org/

Interactive Autism Network Community - http://www.iancommunity.org/

Behavioral Issues

Preventive Ounce - http://www.preventiveoz.org/

Infant, Child, and Adult Temperament - http://www.temperament.com/

Positive Parenting - http://www.positiveparenting.com/

Council for Children with Behavioral Disorders - http://www.ccbd.net/

Foundation for Children with Behavioral Challenges - http://www.explosivekids.org/

Camps

Boost Camp - http://www.boostcamp.org/

Camp Channel: Search Engine - http://www.campchannel.com/

Kamp Kennedy - http://ci.santa-rosa.ca.us/departments/recreationandparks/programs/camps/summercamps/Pages/kampkennedy.aspx

Care Giving

For Caregivers - http://www.caregiving.com/

National Alliance for Care Giving - http://www.caregiving.org/

Cerebral Palsy

Advocacy and free educational information and and support to those who have been affected by cerebral palsy and other developmental disabilities.

Cerebral Palsy Group

United Cerebral Palsy - www.ucpa.org

American Academy for Cerebral Palsy and Developmental Medicine - http://www.aacpdm.org/

http://www.cerebralpalsyguide.com/

Cerebral Palsy Guidance: A Helping Hand On Your Journey

Children with Disabilities (Parent Resources)

Parenting - http://www.parents.com/

Our Kids - www.our-kids.org/

Parents Helping Parents - www.php.com/

Technical Assistance Alliance for Parent Centers - www.taalliance.org/

Matrix Parent’s Network - http://www.matrixparents.org/

Parents Can - www.parentscan.org/

Easter Seals - www.noca.easterseals.com/

California Map to Inclusive Childcare - http://cainclusivechildcare.org/camap/inclusionworks.html#parent

National Association for the Education of Young Children - http://www.naeyc.org/

Zero to Threehttp://www.zerotothree.org/

Deaf / Hard of Hearing

Hearing Loss Association of America - http://www.shhh.org/

National Association of the Deaf - http://www.nad.org/

Telecommunications Relay Services - www.fcc.gov/cgb/dro/trs.html

Described and Captioned Media Program - http://www.dcmp.org/

National Consortium on Deaf-Blindness - www.nationaldb.org/

Technical Assistance Products - http://www.oaktreeproducts.com/

Accredited Schools Online - Helping Students with Hearing Impairments

 

Down Syndrome

National Down Syndrome Society - www.ndss.org/

Sonoma County Down Syndrome Support - www.sonomacountydownsyndromesupport.org/index.htm

Education

Schwab Learning: The Parent’s Guide to K-12 Success - http://www.schwablearning.com/

California Department of Education: Special Education - www.cde.ca.gov/sp/se/

American Council on Education - http://www.acenet.edu/

Families and Advocates Partnership for Education - http://www.fape.org/

Parents Engaged in Education Reform (PEER) - www.fcsn.org/peer

Santa Rosa Junior College Disabilities Resource Department - http://online.santarosa.edu/presentation/page/?35773

Emergency

Lake County Emergency Preparedness - http://health.co.lake.ca.us/Emergency_Preparedness.htm

Epilepsy

Epilepsy Foundation - www.epilepsyfoundation.org/

Estate Planning

Special Needs Alliance - http://www.specialneedsalliance.org/

General

State of California - Department of Developmental Services - http://www.dds.ca.gov/

National Center for Learning Disabilities - http://www.ncld.org/

American Association of People with Disabilities - http://www.aapd-dc.org/

Disability Info - http://www.disability.gov/

California State Resources - http://www.nichcy.org/stateshe/ca.htm

Government

Write to Your Representative - https://writerep.house.gov/writerep/welcome.shtml

IDEA (Individuals with Disabilities Act)

IDEA.gov - http://idea.ed.gov/

IEP (Individualized Education Program)

A Guide to the Individualized Education Program - www.ed.gov/parents/needs/speced/iepguide/index.html

IEP Tips for Parents - www.kidstogether.org/IEP.htm

Inclusion

California Map to Inclusive Child Care - www.cainclusivechildcare.org/

Kids Included Together - www.kitonline.org/

Learning Disabilities

All Kinds of Minds - www.allkindsofminds.org/

Learning Disabilities Association of America - www.ldanatl.org/

LD Online - www.ldonline.org/

LD Resources - www.ldresources.org/

Recreation and Leisure - also see Travel

Giant Steps Therapeutic Equestrian Center - www.giantstepsriding.org/

Access Adventure - www.access-adventure.org/people_files/people_dmartin.html

Outdoor Adventure Trips - www.wildernessinquiry.org/programs/gateway.php

Special Olympics Northern California - www.sonc.org/

Access Northern California - http://www.accessnca.com/

Regional Centers

Redwood Coast Regional Center

Rights

Department of Health and Human Services: Protections for Patient Privacy - www.hhs.gov/ocr/hipaa

Lanterman Act and Related Laws - http://www.lanterman.org/index.php/lanterman_act/

Legal Rights of Persons with Disabilities - www.ag.ca.gov/consumers/pdf/disabled.pdf

Sign Language

Hand Speak - http://www.handspeak.com/

Speech

American Speech-Language-Hearing Association - http://www.asha.org/

National Stuttering Association - http://www.nsastutter.org/

Tourette Syndrome

Tourette Syndrome Association, Inc. - www.tsa-usa.org/

Transitioning

National Center on Secondary Education and Transition - www.ncset.org/

Transition Coalition - http://www.transitioncoalition.org/

Transportation

Lake Transit - http://www.laketransit.org/

Travel (also see "R" Recreation & Leaisure)

The Guided Tour, Inc. - http://www.guidedtour.com/

Trips, Inc. - http://www.tripsinc.com/

Visually Impaired / Blind

American Printing House for the Blind - http://www.aph.org/

American Foundation for the Blind - http://www.afb.org/

Earle Baum Center - http://www.earlebaum.org/

Canine Companions for Independence - http://www.caninecompanions.org/

National Consortium on Deaf-Blindness - www.nationaldb.org/

http://www.accreditedschoolsonline.org/resources/helping-students-with-visual-impairments/

< Back to SELPA